Coorong District Council

Formed in May 1997 following the amalgamation of the District Councils of Peake, Coonalpyn and Meningie, the Coorong District Council is divided into three Wards - Lakes, Mallee and Parks.

With a total area of 8836 km sq, the Coorong District Council is home to approximately 6000 people.

A diverse range of primary production industries operate within the District, including cropping, livestock (sheep, cattle, pigs), dairying, commercial fishing, aquaculture, horticulture and mining. Much of the District is serviced by major trunk freight routes, including the Dukes, Mallee and Princes Highways and the Adelaide to Melbourne rail line.

The Council has offices in Meningie, Tailem Bend & Tintinara

Meningie Office: 49 Princes Highway Meningie SA 5264

Postal: PO Box 399 Tailem Bend 5260

Telephone: 1300 785 277